The Silent Monster

21 again! haha. Thanks everyone for all the well wishes, they are very appreciated. Today’s post is one I’ve been holding on to for a while. Seeing as I’m 21 again and everything, I thought today would be the perfect day to share it. Thanks to everyone who made suggestions on how to improve it. I hope you like it as much as I do. Loads of love,

AJ

*****************

silent monster

The Silent Monster

I wish it came with jingling bells,

Something, anything, so I’d be prepared when it comes

Some warning, so I don’t feel the oomph in my chest

Some warning, so my heart doesn’t beat as fast.

 

I wish it didn’t lure me in,

Strap my feet to the ground,

Mire me in memories,

Burdened with longing and regret.

 

I wish it didn’t take my breath away

Creep in, while I try to enjoy a glass of wine,

Catch me mid-speech while I’m out with friends,

Silence me in the shower, in the middle of my best Adele.

 

I wish it didn’t hound me with images,

Insistent that I remember, when life seemed like perfection

They say closure is an illusion,

I say nostalgia is worse.

3 thoughts on “The Silent Monster

what do you think?

